The state's tax laws will result in $1,500 being paid to millions of Colorado residents in the coming days.

On Monday, August 1, the Colorado Department of Revenue will begin mailing out 2.4million checks.

Taxpayers who file jointly will receive $1,500, while individuals will receive $750.

According to Colorado's Taxpayer Bill Of Rights, the state cannot spend more taxpayer money 

than it generates, so the surplus is returned to the citizens. Earlier this year, Governor Jared Polis

Signed a bill that gives taxpayers an even amount back rather than a proportional refund.

A provision in this bill also requires the state to start sending out checks on August 1, rather than in the spring of 2023.

The state expects to receive all payments by the end of September.

In order to receive the payment, residents must have been 18 years old on December 31, 2021, and 

Who is eligible?

Have filed a state income tax return by that date. In addition, residents who applied for and 

Qualified for a Property Tax/Rent/Heat Credit (PTC) Rebate may also be eligible.

Applicants must have been full-year residents in 2021 to qualify.

A check will be mailed to the address on the return for residents who filed jointly but have since been divorced.

Divorced couples cannot split payments with the state.

Swipe Up to Read More Stories

Swipe Up